Half-truths in History

I’ve always found the LA riots fascinating. They are one of my first memories of childhood. Watching my dad and grandfather react to it and move to protect our home. Hiding in the back of the house with my grandma as the news blared on the tv. It stuck with me. I read this book and talked to a couple of family members about how they remember it going down and my tío was telling me about Latasha Harlins and how her death and the sentencing of her murderer played a big role in the riots. Latasha wasn’t a focal point of this book. She’s not mentioned in any of the stories that are told and no one was asked to recall a memory of her. It’s a reminder of how the pain and suffering of black girls gets forgotten. How quickly the stories of men come center stage. This is not to minimize the damage done to Rodney King but her story. Her murder. Her injustice is part of history too.

Next: Zip It, by Karen Ehman

Leave a comment