It’s my birthday & I’ll cry if I want to

We wasn’t supposed to make it past 25 but the jokes on you we still alive
— Kanye West “We Don’t Care”

When I was 12 I thought that 25 was old. So old, in fact, that I couldn’t contemplate life beyond it. Now I am 26 and I am not sure of what is supposed to happen next. It’s not as if I had a plan for the ages of 12-25. I’ve actually never had a plan. I’ve just kind moved from one thing to the next with no real sense of direction. Now I have stepped into adulthood and I am a little lost.  I’m in this giant blank space and I don’t know what to do with it. Which is frightening but also liberating. Everything before this was just practice. I’ve gotta get something done now.
Shit.
So since my new year has begun I will do the following to prepare for the next stage of my life:
1. Do good.
2. Try to learn from past mistakes.
3. Let go of all the madness I allow to hold me back.
4. Run through sprinklers at least 12 times before my next birthday.
I guess that’s all.
Year 26, let’s do this.

One thought on “It’s my birthday & I’ll cry if I want to

Leave a comment